Gaming News
Xbox One

Fallout 76 is getting a “season pass-style system”

Fallout 76 already has an in-game shop and premium subscription service, and to bring it even further into the realm of modern-day multiplayer games, it’s now getting a “season pass-style” progression system. Which is free for the moment… unless you want to level it up quickly.

The new progression system, which is called Seasons, is set to arrive as part of update 20, and will overhaul the existing challenges system to provide a new way for players to earn goodies. The introductory blog post explains players will be able to take part in “the inaugural Summer Season for free”, with all players gaining access to a single unified progression path, meaning “everyone is working towards the same rewards through the entire season”. There are plans to eventually have four seasons per year, each lasting around 10 weeks, and each with a separate theme. Whether the upcoming seasons will remain free is unclear.

The first season’s progression path looks rather stylish, resembling a board game, and will guide players up a path that reaches to rank 100. You can progress along this by completing in-game activities to earn “S.C.O.R.E.” points, with each rank earning you rewards such as outfits, C.A.M.P. items, weapon skins, power armour paints, perk card packs, Atoms and in-game currencies such as scrip. Challenges aren’t completely disappearing, and completing dailies and weeklies will help you progress through the season path – along with taking part in public events.

Read more

Related posts

How Forza Horizon 5 scales across the console generations


Blizzard cancels this year’s BlizzCon, online event likely early next year


Xbox Party Chat gets text-to-speech and speech-to-text as accessibility push continues